Sugar, We’re Going Down Blitz- M.H. Soars

Sugar, We’re Going Down
M.H. Soars
(Love Me, I’m Famous #2)
Publication date: March 20th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

EMOTIONAL. CAPTIVATING. SEXY.

The long-awaited story of the incorrigible bad boy rockstar and the feisty woman who brought him down to his knees.

They say nothing compares to the first kiss. That sentence needs to be amended. Nothing compares to the first kiss from Oliver Best. I knew in the moment our lips touched that the cocky rockstar would be forever imprinted in my mind. I also knew that loving him would be my destruction. And yet, love him I did.

Oliver Best, former rockstar, heir to one of the largest fortunes in Great Britain, and the country’s most infamous bad boy.

Saylor Blue Carter, college drop-out, lead singer of a struggling band, not a penny to her name.

When they met, it was hate at first sight. Oliver was an arrogant ass. Saylor was a cold hearted bitch. These were the thoughts they had for each other. Until that kiss. That life altering, earth shattering, nuclear kiss. They knew what that kiss meant. They knew anything between them would be explosive and without hope for a happily ever after. So they vowed to forget, they tried to stay away. But now with their best friends’ wedding approaching, all bets are off.

*This is Part One of a 3-Part story.

Goodreads / Amazon

EXCERPT:

I brace myself for the impact, but as soon as Oliver turns around and my gaze collides with his electric blue eyes, I know I’ll have to bring my A-game if I’m to survive being near him. I haven’t seen the man in six months, but just being under his scorching gaze is enough to make me relive our fiery kiss and crave for more. I’ve never felt this crazy fixation for anyone before. It’s like an ice cold fever that won’t quit, a yearning that makes by body tingle all over in anticipation.

Oliver’s gaze skates over my body deliberately slowly, and a satisfied grin is plastered on his smug face when he focuses on my eyes again.

“Hello, there,” he says.

“What are you doing here?” I snap and my rude reply earns me a frown from Sebastian. Shit, I really need to work on tempering my bitchiness when I’m nervous.

Oliver chuckles. “I see you’re still mad at me. I’m kind of honored.”

I cross my arms in front of my chest and bite my tongue to keep from saying anything else that will give away how much Oliver is affecting me.

Someone touches my arm and with a side glance I see it’s Liv. “Be nice, Blue. I can’t have my maid of honor bickering with the best man.”

My shoulders sag as I let out a heavy sigh. I’ve never been part of a wedding party before so I have no idea how much interaction there is between the maid of honor and the best man. I hope it’s minimal. Oliver keeps staring at me like he can read my mind. It’s unnerving.

“I gotta make a call.” I turn on my heel and walk away, trying to keep my steps slow and relaxed. But all I want to do is sprint back to the house. That’s how badly Oliver’s presence is turning my head around. I hate this.

Once inside, I veer to the powder room. The make-a-call excuse is terrible, but I need a moment to recover. Inside the small room, I stare at my reflection in the mirror and count to ten in my head. I tell my heart to calm the fuck down and to stop galloping at full speed. I feel like a teenager suffering from her first crush and that’s not an emotional state I want to revisit.

I splash cold water on my flushed face and redo my loose braid. After taking a couple of deep breaths and squaring my shoulders, I can almost pretend I’m ready to go back out. I refuse to let Oliver’s presence keep me from spending quality time with my best friend.

I place one foot out of the door when his voice startles me. “How was that call?”

I jump on the spot, placing a hand over my chest. “Jesus. Did you follow me?”

Oliver is leaning nonchalantly against the wall with his arms crossed. I notice for the first time what he’s wearing, a black T-shirt that highlights his muscled chest and arms. He is also blonder than I remember. But it’s his devious mouth that makes me lose the ability to form coherent thoughts. God, I want to kiss him again.

He pushes himself off of the wall and moves closer. I hold my ground, feigning a pissed off stance. He can’t know how much I crave his nearness.

“What if I did?” he whispers in my ear, making my skin break out in goose bumps.

“I’d say I don’t appreciate stalkers.”

Oliver takes a step back and stares at me. I wish I knew what he is thinking.

“You’ve changed your hair. I kind of liked the mermaid colors.”

I touch my white blonde locks before narrowing my eyes at Oliver. “Did you just follow me to comment on my hair?”

“I want to clear the air around us. I know that we started on the wrong foot—”

“You don’t say,” I cut him off and Oliver flattens his lips.

“But we’ve ended on a very interesting note,” he finishes his sentence with a smirk.

I cross my arms and keep on glaring at the infuriating man. “Don’t get any fancy ideas. That kiss meant nothing and there won’t be a repeat.”

He steps into my personal space again. “Are you sure? I thought that was a wicked kiss. It’s definitely worth an encore.”

I push him away. “It’s been months. Get over yourself. Don’t you have a line of ravenous groupies dying for your attention?”

“Ravenous groupies?” He chuckles. “The images you paint in my head, Saylor. Then you blame me for getting fancy ideas.”

“Listen, Oliver. I don’t know how long you’re in town for, but I would like for us to try to act amicable whenever we’re forced together thanks to our friends’ wedding. So you’d better quit with the sexual innuendo.”

Oliver sighs loudly like what I just asked him is a huge, inconvenient favor. “You’re killing me here, Saylor. Do you know how hard it will be for me to look at you and not want you?”

I suck in a breath as my heart lurches in my chest. It takes me a moment to find my ground again and answer him.

“Try your best,” I say, my voice thin and without substance.

Oliver reaches out and takes a strand of my hair, letting it slide through his fingers. I remain frozen on the spot.

“Maddening, but I will.” He drops my hair and takes a couple of steps back. “And since I’m being completely honest here, I’m seriously considering making California home.”

Oliver goes back to the party outside, leaving me alone to digest the news. Why does it bother me so much that he wants to move to the same state as me? It’s not like we’ll ever see each other besides when we’re doing wedding stuff. What annoys me the most is how my heart hasn’t gotten the memo yet that Oliver is a bad idea. It celebrates furiously in my chest, like it has just discovered how to beat.

 

Author Bio:

M. H. Soars always knew creative arts were her calling but not in a million years did she think she would become an author. With a background in fashion design she thought she would follow that path. But one day, out of the blue, she had an idea for a book. One page turned into ten pages, ten pages turned into a hundred, and before she knew, her first novel, The Prophecy of Arcadia, was born.

M. H. Soars resides in Florida with her husband and baby daughter. She is currently working on the Arcadian Wars series, and the Love Me, I’m Famous series.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / FB Reader’s Group / Twitter / Pinterest

 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Use Me Release- MJ Fields and Chelsea Camaron

Title: Use Me
Series: Caldwell Brothers
Author: MJ Fields and Chelsea Camaron
Genre: Sports Romance 
Release Date: March 21, 2017
New York Times best selling author, Tatum Longley, is being forced out of her comfort zone. Her publisher needs her to change from hard hitting nonfiction to romance writing. 
But first she must find a muse. 
Angelo has no desire to form relationships with anyone around him. But when a very persistent Tatum makes him an offer that nearly knocks this six foot five, long haired, tattooed, dangerous looking man, on his ass. 
Will he be able to resist the temptation, or will be allow her to use him. 


***This is a full length stand alone romance. Although a spinoff book from the Caldwell Brothers Series, it is not necessary to read any other books before this one, but it is recommended.***

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

USA Today Bestselling author Chelsea Camaron is a small town Carolina girl with a big imagination. She is a wife and mom chasing her dreams. She writes contemporary romance, erotic suspense, and psychological thrillers. She loves to write blue-collar men who have real problems with a fictional twist. From mechanics to bikers to oil riggers to smokejumpers, bar owners, and beyond, she loves a strong hero who works hard and plays harder.

                                                                                    USA Today bestselling author MJ Fields write books that scorch pages and melt hearts. 

Her style is raw, gritty and authentic. Love an alpha and a strong heroine? She does too. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

HOSTED BY:

Gloria Herrmann Interview

17439447_432433730428916_92358843_n

 

 

  1. If your books became movies, who would you want to play your characters?

 

It’s quite funny that this is one of the questions. An actor pal of mine asked me to send The Pass Through to his agent last week. His name is Zahn McClarnon and he is literally the real-life version of Armel, who is truly the main character in The Pass Through. You may have seen Zahn on Fargo (Season Two) on FX or on Netflix’s Longmire. He’s such a great guy and it would be an honor to have him play one of the most important characters I’ve created to date.

            I have had a lot of readers ask me to contact Hallmark to get the Cloverleaf series made into a movie. Maybe if enough of them pester the execs over at Hallmark something will happen!

  1. Did you ever think of making a YouTube video of any of your characters?

Gosh, I hadn’t even considered that. How cool would that be!

  1. Have you ever dressed up as one of your characters?

If you consider wearing stilettos while drunk, then yes, I have dressed up like more than a few of my characters in the Single in Seattle series. I have described some of my very own outfits as ones that my characters’ wear. I also live vicariously through their wardrobe. Don’t get me started on the fabulous collection of handbags and shoes in my Devil’s Darlings series!

4. If you could be one of your characters, who would it be? Why?

That’s a very difficult question. All of my characters, even some of the males, are a little part of me. However, if I were to be one of my characters, I think I’d love to be Dr. Kathryn Bailey. The main reason I chose her is because, in The Pass Through, she went on such an incredible journey. Kathryn witnessed something that made her question all of her beliefs and scientific reasoning. Plus, I love the medical field and once upon a time ago, I had considered a career in medicine.

 5. What’s the weirdest question you have ever been asked?

            This is such a great question, mostly because I’m really having to think about it. I get asked all sorts of normal questions, but nothing too weird. People ask the run of the mill questions; what inspired me, are any of the characters based on me, and what will I write next. I also get asked for my address quite a bit, but that’s just because I have the best readers ever who love to send goodies! Sorry, but I think I’m coming up empty on this question.

 

6. How do you research the places you write about?

 Some of the places I’ve written about, like Portland, Seattle, or SoCal, are all places I’ve visited and explored long before writing a book. The other fictional locations, such as Elk Horn or Birch Valley, Washington were both inspired by places I had visited and sort of molded together to create the landscape I needed for my story. Then there’s that awesome tool known as Google and it’s kinda my best friend. However, I’d love to visit the UK down the road and I can only imagine the inspiration I’d get from that trip!

  1. Do your characters stalk you until you write their story or do you really have to focus and then flesh out random ideas?

The other night as I laid down to sleep, a conversation happened in my head. I saw these two people having what was a very comical argument. Instantly I knew that I wanted to write about what it was that I was seeing and hearing. Let’s just say this is a regular occurrence and is how many of my stories begin. Inspiration is a funny thing. It can hit at any time, in the car, shower, as you close your eyes to sleep, or even while sitting in the dentist’s chair. I couldn’t agree more about my characters stalking me. Imagine my mind as an apartment complex in the Bronx, too many residents all living in this small space. Everyone wants their story to be written and they definitely have no problem letting me know. There’s a lot of noise in my head and that’s a fantastic problem to have in my career. Once my mind goes silent, it will probably be time to retire.  

 8. Do you have a ritual you go through to write?

Well, coffee or possibly an adult beverage is like a must when I want those words to flow. I can write just about anywhere, though my office aka writing cave is the best. I know some writers need music, a special item next to them as work on their story, and have so many other rituals. I hate to admit it…but I’m sort of boring. I just sit down and write.

  1. What do you feel is your greatest achievement in being an author?

The single most important achievement as an author I feel is inspiring others, whether it be writing or reading. I can say I’ve motivated more than a few to do both. Of course, I’d love to become a New York Times Bestseller, but there is a lot of satisfaction in moving people to read or compose their own stories. I recently spoke at a school and my goal was to tell these kiddos about what it is that I do. I had no idea that in that process I’d also be inspiring some of these teachers to read again. Several purchased my books and shared with me that it was my passionate speech about being an author that ignited a fire inside them again. How friggin awesome is that! That’s a huge achievement.

10.  When did you feel like you “made it?” 

 I’m still working very hard on making it, but I can say that when I was an attending author at the Spicy in Spokane book signing event this March, I felt pretty darn special. The readers who stopped by my table had actually read my books and talked with me about some of posts I’d written on Facebook and various other social media sites that had left impressions on them. Fellow authors swung by to visit and hug me, they even thanked me for the support I’d lent to our book community. I was quite surprised and touched by all of this. I kinda see that as having “made it”.

 

You can find Gloria Herrmann’s newest release, Reeling in Love, HERE on March 28,2017.

 

 

 

Substitute Cover Reveal- Xavier Neal

XN The Substitute.jpg

XN The Substitute eBook

Release Date: May 1, 2017

Designer: Designs By Dana (Dana Leah)

Blurb:

Nate
Being a substitute teacher is good for me.
It’s sensible.
Logical.
Abandoning my plans for a career in the film industry and a life full of fun, albeit slightly reckless, actions was the responsible thing to do.
That’s who I am now.
That’s who I’ve become.
Mr. Boring. Mr. Predictable. Mr. Anal Retentive.
At least that’s what I thought until one irresistible student breathes life back into the version of me I’ve been desperately trying to suffocate.
Being with Ainsley isn’t a want. It’s a need.
And I’m willing do anything to fulfill it.

Ainsley
I’ve spent my entire life ashamed of who I am.
Who my mother is. What she does.
Being forced to attend a private school where people endlessly whisper about it is only bearable because I know exactly what’s in my future.
I know exactly where I’m going.
I know exactly what to do to get there.
Or at least I thought I did.
One class with him and suddenly my entire world was missing one very important piece.
Being with Nate isn’t just about sex.
It’s about loving life in a way I never imagined.
The situation isn’t ideal, but I’ll do whatever it takes to be with him.

Retribution Release- Cameo Renae

Title: Retribution (The After Light Saga, #5)
Author: Cameo Renae
Genre: YA Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic
Publisher: CHBB
Cover Designer: Stephanie Hobbs of Steph’s Cover Design
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR

Blurb:
War is coming between humans and Arvies, leaving me trapped between two enemies. This time, I don’t think I’ll survive.

The government will stop at nothing to get me back in their clutches. They want what’s inside me—a power I call Venge—and will use my greatest weakness to bring me to my knees.

The Arvies know of my gift, and use my telepathy and their numbers, in an effort to take me out.

My name is Abigail Park, and I promise retribution against those who’ve wronged me, even if it’s the last thing I do.

Facebook Release Party:

2016 Young Adult Author of the Year – Penned Con
2013 Break Out Author by Young Adult & Teen Readers
2013 Book of the Year (Hidden Wings)Cameo Renae was born in San Francisco, raised in Maui, Hawaii, and recently moved with her husband and children to Alaska.
She’s a daydreamer and a caffeine and peppermint addict who loves to laugh, loves to read, and loves to escape reality. One of her greatest joys is creating fantasy worlds filled with adventure and romance and sharing it with others.
One day she hopes to find her own magic wardrobe and ride away on her magical unicorn. Until then…she’ll keep writing!

HAPPY READING!

For updates on Cameo you can visit:
Buy Links:
#Free with #KindleUnlimited
ARV-3 (Book #1): http://amzn.to/1MC7kND
Sanctum (Book #2): http://amzn.to/1M19cj3
Intransigent (Book #3): http://amzn.to/1V6zTnN
Hostile (Book #4): http://amzn.to/1U4YuJZ

Retribution (Book #5): Available Soon

A Way Back into Love Release- Veronica Thatcher

Title: A Way Back into Love
Author: Veronica Thatcher
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Notion Press
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR
Blurb:
Nothing is perfect. Life is messy. Relationships are complex. Outcomes, uncertain. People, irrational. But love…well, that makes everything complicated. And when you are caught in a tangled web of secrets, lies, and complex affairs, someone is bound to get burned.
Emily Stevens is a spunky, spirited college girl whose life gets turned upside-down when she realizes she’s in love with her best friend of fifteen years, Derek Thorpe. As Emily prepares to confess her feelings to Derek, something happens one night which changes her life forever. Five years later, Emily finds herself in Boston, alone and heartbroken. Will she ever be able to forget the past? And what will she find when she returns home…to the man she left behind?
Veronica Thatcher is an exciting new contemporary romance author. Ever since she was very young, she’s dreamed of becoming a doctor when she grew up. While still forging ahead with that, majoring in pre-med in college, she unwittingly stumbled upon a new dream—becoming a published author. Some may call her an introvert or a wallflower, but she has always found she could express herself better in written, rather than spoken, words. However, never in her wildest dreams had she envisioned she would pursue writing as a prospective career, not just a hobby. Her love for writing goes hand-in-hand with her love for a good romance novel—whether it be a feel-good, sweet romance or a dark, suspenseful one. When she’s not studying, reading, or writing, she is usually found blasting her favourite songs, sometimes singing and dancing along to them.  She dabbles in a number of activities, including painting, karate, singing and dancing. She is a huge chocoholic – probably the biggest – and she is an ice-cream junkie too. She considers herself technologically handicapped forever and has no shame in admitting that. She also deems chocolates her boyfriend, Patrick Dempsey the love of her life, and Friends her life!
Her first book, A Way Back Into Love, is slated for release in February 2017, and she hopes readers will enjoy it as much as she enjoyed writing it. You can reach Veronica through Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Wattpad and Gmail.
Author Links:
Emily stepped back from him and shook her head. “Oh, you know damn well what I mean. You know what, Derek? I’m done having this conversation with you. I’m so done with this conversation and I’m so done with you,” Emily spat out angrily before brushing past him.
“Emily, wait,” Derek said, catching her by her arm. “Where are you going?”
Emily spun around and gave him a bitter look before looking down at his hand gripping her arm. “Leave my arm,” she said in a low yet threatening voice, “And why do you care where I’m going? It’s none of your business.”
Derek didn’t leave her arm in spite of her warning and said, “Em, you’ve had too many drinks. You can’t drive in this condition. I’ll drop you home.”
Emily jerked her arm free from his grasp and replied in a bitter voice, “Thank you, but no. I’m perfectly capable of getting myself home on my own. I don’t need you to drop me home. Do you get it, Derek Thorpe? I DON’T NEED YOU!” Emily yelled the last words, causing a few people to look their way.

    Goodreads Book Giveaway
        A Way Back Into Love by Veronica Thatcher

          A Way Back Into Love

          by Veronica Thatcher
            Giveaway ends March 29, 2017.
            See the giveaway details
            at Goodreads.

 

Thank You for Holding Blitz- Julia Kent/ Elisa Reed

Thank You for Holding
Elisa Reed & Julia Kent
Publication date: March 21st 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Having it all is a fantasy, right?

Carrie Shelton thought her boyfriend was too good to be true. Her best friend’s brother? A guy who loved antiquing? Who cuddled on the couch while watching foodie YouTube clips and talking about artisanal spices? Who helped her accessorize her outfits?

Right.

Fantasy.

So when he ran off with Kevin, the owner of an antique shop, right before his sister’s wedding, Carrie’s life went from fantasy to nightmare.

As maid of honor, she can’t back out of the wedding. And her ex is the best man – but now he has his own best man.

She needs a date. Stat.

Enter Ryan. Sure, he’s a hot male stripper at the O Spa where she works as junior designer, but he’s a few years younger and just, you know — a friend.

Perfect. She needs a friend more than she needs a boyfriend.

A weekend of playing her boyfriend so she can save face is a lot to ask, but for some reason Carrie doesn’t understand, Ryan’s all in. Enthusiastic, even.

Especially when it comes to physical displays of affection.

Public kisses turn to private confessions, and pretty soon, Carrie can’t tell the difference between fantasy and reality.

Because if Ryan’s just pretending he’s in love with her, then why does the chemistry between them — and between the sheets — feel so real?

Carrie can’t settle for almost, though. She’s already done that. She’s not putting her life on hold anymore.

Turns out Ryan won’t, either.

He’s holding out for more.

Thank You For Holding is a STANDALONE in the On Hold series. You do not need to have read book 1 in the series, but after reading about Carrie and Ryan’s friends-to-lovers adventure, you’ll want to.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

 

Author Bio:

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Julia Kent writes romantic comedy with an edge. From billionaires to BBWs to new adult rock stars, Julia finds a sensual, goofy joy in every contemporary romance she writes. Unlike Shannon from Shopping for a Billionaire, she did not meet her husband after dropping her phone in a men’s room toilet (and he isn’t a billionaire). She lives in New England with her husband and three sons in a household where the toilet seat is never, ever, down.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Royally Relinquished Release- Hayley Faiman

Title: Royally Relinquished: A Modern Day Fairy Tale
Author: Hayley Faiman
Genre: Contemporary Romance Standalone
Release Date: March 23, 2017

A COMPLETE STANDALONE NOVEL

The only thing royal about Caitriona Geneva Grace is the blue of her beat-up sedan. While luxury and vanity are terms she could use to describe her everyday life, they’re not words she lives by. Rather, they’re words that keep her fed—barely. As a receptionist at a medical spa, her life is far from glamorous, but she gets by. For Cait, anything beats the life she left behind when she said goodbye to her small town after high school. 


His highness, Prince Henrik Stuart, is a slave to his royal status. Bound by duty and controlled by the crown, he fears a future chained to a woman of good breeding–a match not made in love. While known as the foolhardy prince, the thought of settling down isn’t what troubles him. Rather, if he could find a woman who cared nothing of his title, he would give her the world.

When a weekend trip leads to a chance meeting, both Caitriona and Henrik feel a spark between them unlike any they’ve experienced before. To each, the other is too good to be true, but one night of fun cannot be denied.

When she said ‘yes’ to the handsome, green-eyed stranger, Caitriona didn’t know that she was stepping into her very own fairytale.

What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas…except when it’s legally binding.

*Recommended for readers 18+ due to Sexual Content and Language.

32 years young… born and raised in California, did a stint in Oregon only to return to the Golden State. Lived that life a while until the Lone Star State called to us, Hill Country, Texas is where we call home, where our boots rest and loving that country life. Living the life with one bearded power pole climbing husband, two little boys that are full of energy and drive us crazy plus a chocolate lab named Optimus Prime.


 

HOSTED BY:

Moments of Beauty Blitz- J.B. Heller

Moments of Beauty
J.B. Heller
Publication date: March 23rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Ugly. It the only word to describe my upbringing.

It drove my need to capture every moment of beauty I could find. A glimpse of a mother’s love. A feather floating in the breeze. A ray of sunshine emerging on a rainy day.

And then there was her, Eliza Quinn, she signified everything I didn’t deserve. She showed me more beauty than I ever thought possible. And I took it all, despite knowing I was going to leave her, and never come back.

Leaving her five years ago was my biggest mistake, and my greatest regret. Now I need to make amends. I thought leaving her was the hardest thing I’d ever have to do, but that was before I knew I had to win her back.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

EXCERPT:

ELIZA

It’s him.

Huxley Haynes.

The boy who thinks he’s invisible, but I see him.

I didn’t know anyone else knew about this spot. Well, not exactly, I know I’m not the first person to ever find it, but I’ve never run into anybody else here.

The expression on his face is comical. Something between terrified and busted. I watch him as he watches me, and I wait for him to say something. But he doesn’t. He just stands there gripping a camera in his hands like it’s a life raft.

“I won’t bite.” I say, in an attempt to break the ice.

He frowns for a moment then says, “I know.”

“So why haven’t you said anything?” I ask.

His Adams apple bobs as he swallows, “Ah, I’m not sure what you want me to say?”

I shrug, “I don’t mind. You could say something like, ‘Hi Eliza, nice running into you.’” I do my best to imitate his deeper voice and he cracks a small grin.

“Hi Eliza, nice running into you.”

It sounds so much better when he says it. His voice is deep and husky, it sends a shiver through my body and I grin back. “Hey Hux, what are you doing here? I haven’t seen you here before.”

He scratches his temple before answering me. “You know who I am?” he asks.

“Of course I do. What, have I been living under a rock for the last seventeen years?” I ask incredulous. I’m actually a little offended he doesn’t think I know who he is. We’ve lived in the same town since we were born.

The corner of his lips lift slightly at the sass in my tone. “No, but I’m not exactly your kind of crowd.”

I raise a brow, “Are you trying to offend me?”

He shakes his head, just slightly, “No.”

“So what’s with the line of questions?” I shoot back.

He scratches his temple again, “We don’t, I mean, I’m not,” he sighs and looks at his feet, “I just didn’t think you knew who I was.”

My hands have moved to my hips now, “Why wouldn’t I? We’ve lived in the same town and gone to the same schools since forever.” Then I realise what he means, “Oh, you think I’m one of those conceited bitches who doesn’t acknowledge people I deem as beneath me. How nice of you to judge me when you don’t even know me.”

His head shoots up and there’s panic in his grey eyes, “No, I don’t think that.”

I snort, “Really? Cause that’s the vibe you’re giving off right now.”

He shifts his backpack around and puts his camera inside the open pocket then zips it back up. “This is a really strange conversation,” he supplies.

“You’re the one making it that way. I was being friendly,” I snark at him. And I don’t know why I’m acting like this. I’m not normally so defensive. But his short answers and the fact that he clearly thinks I’m one of those people annoys me. I don’t care if other people think I’m like that, but not him.

Swinging his pack back over his shoulder he chews the corner of his bottom lip for a second and nods, “Yeah okay. Sorry. Guess I’m not a great conversationalist.”

“Do-over?” I suggest, and when he nods I continue, “Hey Hux, fancy seeing you here.”

He hooks his thumbs into the belt loops of his dirt covered jeans, “Hi Eliza, nice running into you.”

I can’t help the smile that takes over my face, “So, what are you doing here? And why are you so dirty?”

Looking down at his jeans he gives me a sheepish grin, “I was de-rocking a garden bed this afternoon, it’s dirty work.”

I snicker because my mind goes to naughty places when he says that. And the twinkle in his eyes says he knows exactly what I’m thinking, so I don’t hold back. “Dirty work for a dirty boy, huh.”

He chuckles, “Something like that.”

Oh my…I’ve never heard him laugh before, it sounds so good. But that’s when I notice a big blackish-blue bruise on his upper arm, “What’s with the bruise? Did the rocks object to being de-rocked?”

He glances at his bicep and grimaces, then clears his throat, “Something like that.”

Right, doesn’t want to talk about the bruise. I change the subject, “Nice spot huh?” I say looking around at the moss covered boulders and the crystal clear water around my ankles.

“Yeah, I take pictures here sometimes.”

And I’m shocked he gave me that much of an answer. But before I have a chance to ask him about it he says he has to go. I can’t deny I’m disappointed, I’ve wanted to talk to him for ages. But he’s not exactly approachable.

“Oh, okay. It was nice to see you Hux.” I say as he begins walking away from me.

He looks back at me over his shoulder, “Yeah, you too.”

Then he disappears into the trees.

 

Author Bio:

JB Heller is an average Aussie housewife in her late 20’s with a wicked sexy imagination. She and her super sexy husband are the parents of three minions, two Great Danes and a Cat who thinks she’s a person.

She spends her days running around after her wildling children and jotting down stories in her flower embossed leather notebook (She is very particular about her stationary.). She’s a self-confessed Stationary Junky who’s constantly on the lookout for more.

Most day’s JB can be found glued to her laptop, taking advantage of school hours- writing as fast as she can while she can. Or trolling Pinterest for her next potential muse. And when she needs a break from the voices in her head she indulges in her favourite past time, reading.

Want to know more about JB? Check her out, you’ll be guaranteed a good laugh if nothing else.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Newsletter

 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Tsunami Release- J.O. Mantel

Title: Tsunami
Author: J.O Mantel
Genre: Suspense/Drama
Release Date: January 30, 2017 


 

December 26, 2004.

It’s just another day in paradise. Mitch and Amber couldn’t be happier. They are newlyweds, expecting their first child and honeymooning in Thailand.

As they enjoy their romantic getaway on the peaceful island, plans are made for their future together. 

But on the morning of Boxing Day, December 26, 2004, tragedy strikes. The remote and peaceful island is struck with one of the worlds largest and deadliest earthquakes which triggers a devastating Tsunami.

Amber is trapped in her hotel room and is unable to contact Mitch. She slowly starts to panic, causing stress to her unborn child. 

As the Tsunami causes mass destruction across the island, Amber finds herself going into premature labor. Suddenly, the newlywed’s romantic honeymoon, becomes an emotionally gripping race for survival. 

 

“It is only a short novella, but Mr Mantel has been able to put so much into it that you will be emotionally exhausted once it has finished. BRILLIANT is the only way to describe this story.” – Reading is Our Satisfaction

 

“What a wonderful quick read. This author puts you right in the middle of the action.” – Amazon Review

“One word for this short story – WOW.” – Amazon Review

 

HOSTED BY: