CC Dragon/ Cheryl Dragon Interview

 

I had one of my favorite authors stop by. This is what she had to say:

 

  1. If your books became movies, who would you want to play your characters?

That’s tricky…Deanna Oscar probably Sandra Bullock. Feisty and smart but feels like the girl next door…

 

  1. Did you ever think of making a YouTube video of any of your characters?

I wish I could project my imagination onto YouTube…lol. I’m no actress so I’d just be rambling about my character and people would laugh.

 

  1. Have you ever dressed up as one of your characters?

No…Ivy’s dresses and heels are too much for me. I suppose I dress like Deanna most days, jeans and sweaters or T-shirts. Functional, not fancy.

 

  1. If you could be one of your characters, who would it be? Why?

Deanna has some weird powers but a lot of pressure. I’d probably be Claudia Crestwood from my new Witch’s Brew series. She is young with literal witchy powers and owning a coffee and tea shop would be fun.

 

  1. What’s the weirdest question you have ever been asked?

If I’m psychic or have any powers…I wish. I just have some sensitivity to things.

 

  1. Have you ever traveled to research for a book?

Yes, I’ve been to New Orleans. It’s a unique feel and great vibe that hopefully I include in those books.

 

Where would you want to go?  

I’d love to see Alaska…but that is a bit pricier of a trip and a wilder place.

 

How do you research the places you write about?

Having friends in those areas helps. I have a friend who lives in Alaska so she beta reads every book set there to make sure it’s accurate. That is a very unique place.

 

As for say the East Coast, I have friends who live there and can give me input and beta read those books for the proper feel. The more remote or difficult the place, the more detail you need.

 

  1. Do your characters stalk you until you write their story or do you really have to focus and then flesh out random ideas?

Yes and no. My main characters go through a lot. Deanna Oscar and Claudia Crestwood both handle a lot of crap and crazy…so they may nag when they are ready for the next book but they gripe about what I put them through. The funny and the dangerous…

 

 

  1. Do you have a ritual you go through to write?

Not really. I have an outline usually, then I have to get in the headspace of the character. Writing first person is fun but also very personal to the character.

 

  1. What do you feel is your greatest achievement in being an author?

Not giving up…I had a couple of tough years with family illness/death. If I could FMLA, I would’ve. It was hard to write and take care of people. So I feel like I’m starting over in some ways…

 

  1. When did you feel like you “made it?”

When it happens, I’ll let you know 😀

 

 

If you would like to stalk Cheryl Dragon/ CC Dragon’s books, here are links:

Facebook

Amazon     CC Dragon Amazon

Goodreads  Cheryl Dragon     CC Dragon

Website

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

